ANZAC Centenary 2014-2018: Sharing Victoria's Stories

Victorian Anzac Centenary Committee

Victorian Anzac Centenary Committee

The State Government has established the Victorian Anzac Centenary Committee under the leadership of former Premier, the Hon. Ted Baillieu, to provide advice on how best to commemorate Victoria’s involvement in and contribution to World War I, and to help support community involvement.

The Committee will also be working to ensure that there is the opportunity for every community in Victoria to participate and to develop its understanding of Victoria’s role during the war.

The primary role of the Committee is to advise the Government, through the Minister for Veterans’ Affairs, the Hon. John Eren MP, about priorities for the Centenary and to make recommendations to him in respect of proposals submitted to the Committee or the Government more broadly.

The Committee will also have a role in assisting the Government of Victoria to engage with Victorians and to provide advice to communities about proposed initiatives and events.


Ted Baillieu

The Hon. Ted Baillieu 
Former Premier of Victoria

Ted Baillieu was born in Melbourne, studied architecture at the University of Melbourne, and throughout his public life has retained a keen interest in planning.

In 1999 he became the Member for Hawthorn.

Ted was elected Leader of the Victorian Liberal Party on 8 May 2006.  Following the Victorian State Election on 27 November 2010, he served as Victoria’s 46th Premier and Minister for the Arts from 2 December 2010 to 6 March 2013.

Committee Members

Ms Sharon Knight

Ms Sharon Knight, MLA
MP Member for Member for Wendouree, Parliamentary Secretary for Human Services

Sharon was appointed Member for Wendouree at the 2014 Victorian election.

Her professional experience is in proactively engaging local communities through her work in the health and community sectors. This includes managing Lifeline in Ballarat and serving on the board of Pinarc Disability Support for over a decade.   Sharon has also worked with Ballarat’s Vietnam Veterans and their families to identify better ways of offering support and services.

Sharon has qualifications in Social Work and Business Management.

Dr Rob Webster OAM, President, RSL Victorian Branch

Dr Rob Webster OAM
President, RSL Victorian Branch

Dr Webster has been a member of the RSL for over 40 years. He was appointed State President in July 2017. He served in the Vietnam War as a member of 26 Transport Company.





Lieutenant Colonel Laureen Grimes, Chair, Victorian Veterans Council

Lieutenant Colonel Laureen Grimes
Acting Chair, Victorian Veterans Council

LTCOL Grimes joined the Army Reserve in 1981 and commanded Victoria’s Combat Support Services Battalion that was closely involved with the 2009 Victorian Bushfire Support. She is currently serving in a support role to the largest logistics services transformation undertaken by Defence.




Chris SpenceAir Vice Marshal Chris Spence, AO (Rtd)
Chair of the Shrine Trustees

Air Vice Marshal Spence joined the Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF) Academy at Point Cook in 1969. He has commanded at various levels in the RAAF and retired from the RAAF in 2007. He is the current Chair of the Trustees of the Shrine of Remembrance and has held this position since 2011.

Air Vice Marshal Spence was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2004.


Terry Makings

Mr Terry Makings, AM
Nominee of the Melbourne Naval Centre

Terry has worked in Defence and local government over many years. He was Commander Fleet Maintenance at the time he left the Royal Australian Navy. He had appointments as the Officer- in-Charge of shore upkeep facilities and the engineer of warships at sea.

Terry left the Navy to join the City of Melbourne. He held several appointments in the engineering environment, eight years as Group Manager Engineering Services and three years as Director City Services.  Terry also held the position of General Manager – City Services at the City of Greater Geelong.

Claire Chisholm

Ms Claire Chisholm
Former recipient of the Premier’s Spirit of Anzac Prize

As a 16 year old, Claire was an inaugural Premier’s Spirit of Anzac Prize recipient in 2005 when she travelled to the Western Front and England.

She has recently graduated with a Bachelor of Arts (Geography, Politics) and a Diploma of Languages (French) from The University of Melbourne. Claire has also been a member of the Youth and Creative Working Groups assisting the Anzac Centenary Advisory Board at a federal level.


Greg Williams

Mr Greg Williams
Afghanistan veteran and serving member of Victoria Police

Greg enlisted in the Australian Defence Force in June 2007, graduating from the School of Infantry later that year to join the 6th Royal Australian Regiment.

He was deployed to Afghanistan on Operation SLIPPER with Combat Team Delta between February and October 2010, on Mentoring Task Force 1. His Battle Group was awarded the Meritorious Unit Citation. Greg was then transferred to Reserves 5/6th Royal Victorian Regiment in late 2011.

Since leaving the Army he entered Victoria Police where he worked as a member of the Public Order Response Team. He has recently joined the Victorian Recruit Firefighters.